Skip to content

ASX 24 Trading calendar - 2015

The following details Trading Hours as they relate to the ASX 24 markets during domestic and international Public Holidays. The policy and process with regards to Trading Hours and Public Holidays is detailed in the tables immediately below.

Public Holidays ASX 24 Australian, US and ASX 24 NZ Dollar Market Status
Australian Day Session Closed
Night Session Normal Trading Hours
New Zealand Day Session Closed
Night Session Normal Trading Hours
US Day Session Normal Trading Hours
Night Session Normal Trading Hours
International Closed Day and Night Sessions

Public Holidays refer to holidays observed by the respective Debt and/ or Equity financial markets.

Australian Holidays NZ ASX 24 Holidays International Holidays
Australia Day New Year Holiday New Year's Day
ANZAC Day Waitangi Day Good Friday
Queen's Birthday ANZAC Day Easter Monday
  Queen's Birthday Christmas Day
  Labour Day Boxing Day
     

 

Over Night Options (ONO) on Australian Dollar Products before a Day Session Holiday

 

The Three and Ten Year Commonwealth Government Bond ONOs will not be available for trading on the Night Session on the dates detailed below due to the unavailability of the following Day Session to calculate a settlement price with integrity.

 

Calendar Date Public Holiday - Trade Date
Friday January 23, 2015 Australia Day - Monday January 26, 2015
Friday June 5, 2015 Queen's Birthday - Monday June 8, 2015

Please note: ANZAC Days falls on Saturday 25 April, 2015, with no substitute holiday declared in Australia.  Normal SFE trading hours.

 

Intra Day Options (IDO) on Australian Dollar Debt Products

 

The Three and Ten Year Commonwealth Government Bond IDOs will not be available for trading on dates where the day session for ASX 24 Australian products are not available or closes early.

 

Date Trading hours
Thursday January 1, 2015
New Year's Day 'Holiday'
ASX 24: Closed
NZ ASX 24: Closed
Friday January 2, 2015
Day after New Year's Day 'Holiday' (NZ)
ASX 24: Normal Trading Hours
NZ ASX 24: Day Session Closed
Night Session to open at 3:40pm (Sydney Time)
Monday January 19, 2015
Martin Luther King Day (US)
ASX 24: Normal Trading Hours 
NZ ASX 24: Normal Trading Hours
Monday January 26, 2015
Australia Day 'Holiday'
ASX 24: Day Session Closed
Night Session to open at 5:10pm (Sydney Time)
NZ ASX 24: Normal Trading Day
Friday February 6, 2015
Waitangi Day (NZ)
ASX 24: Normal Trading Hours
NZ ASX 24: Day Session Closed
Night Session to open at 3:40pm (Sydney Time)
Monday February 16, 2015
Presidents Day (US)
ASX 24: Normal Trading Hours 
NZ ASX 24: Normal Trading Hours
Thursday April 2, 2015
Day Before Good Friday
ASX 24: Night Session to cease trading at midnight
NZ ASX 24: Night Session to cease trading at midnight (Sydney Time)
Friday April 3, 2015
Good Friday
ASX 24: Closed
NZ ASX 24: Closed
Monday April 6, 2015
Easter Monday
ASX 24: Closed
NZ ASX 24: Closed
Monday April 27, 2015
ANZAC Day
ASX 24: Normal Trading Hours
NZ ASX 24: Day Session Closed
Night Session to open at 3:40pm (Sydney Time)
Monday May 25, 2015
Memorial Day (US)
ASX 24: Normal Trading Hours
NZ ASX 24: Normal Trading Hours
Monday June 1, 2015
Queen's Birthday (NZ)
ASX 24: Normal Trading Hours
NZ ASX 24: Day Session Closed
Night Session to open at 3:40pm (Sydney Time)
Monday June 8, 2015
Queen's Birthday (ex WA)
ASX 24: Day Session Closed
Night Session to open at 5:10pm (Sydney Time)
NZ ASX 24: Normal Trading Hours
Friday July 3, 2015
Independence Day (US)
ASX 24: Normal Trading Hours 
NZ ASX 24: Normal Trading Hours
Monday August 3, 2015
Bank Holiday (NSW)
ASX 24: Normal Trading Hours
NZ ASX 24: Normal Trading Hours
Monday September 7, 2015
Labour Day (US)
ASX 24: Normal Trading Hours
NZ ASX 24: Normal Trading Hours
Monday October 5, 2015
Labour Day NSW
ASX 24: Normal Trading Hours
NZ ASX 24: Normal Trading Hours
Monday October 12, 2015
Columbus Day
ASX 24: Normal Trading Hours
NZ ASX 24: Normal Trading Hours
Monday October 26, 2015
Labour Day (NZ)
ASX 24: Normal Trading Hours
NZ ASX 24: Day Session Closed
Night Session to open at 3:40pm (Sydney Time)
Wednesday November 11, 2015
Veteran's Day (US)
ASX 24: Normal Trading Hours
NZ ASX 24: Normal Trading Hours
Thursday November 26, 2015
Thanksgiving (US)
ASX 24: Normal Trading Hours
NZ ASX 24: Normal Trading Hours (Sydney Time)
Thursday December 24, 2015
Christmas Eve

Last Business Day before Christmas Day

ASX 24: Equity Products to close at 2:30pm (Sydney Time)
ASX 24: VIX to close at 14:15pm (Sydney Time)
Interest Rate, Energy, Environmental and Agriculture Products to
close at 12:30pm (Sydney Time)
Night Session Closed
NZ ASX 24: Interest Rate Products to close at 10:00am (Sydney Time)
Night Session Closed

Friday December 25, 2015
Christmas Day
ASX 24: Closed
NZ ASX 24: Closed
Monday December 28, 2015
Boxing Day
ASX 24: Closed
NZ ASX 24: Closed
Thursday December 31, 2015
New Year's Eve

Last Business Day before New Year's Day

ASX 24: Equity Products to close at 2:30pm (Sydney Time)
ASX 24: VIX to close at 14:15pm (Sydney Time)
Interest Rate, Energy, Environmental and Agriculture Products to
close at 12:30pm (Sydney Time)
Night Session Closed
NZ ASX 24: Interest Rate Products to close at 10:00am (Sydney Time)
Night Session Closed

Friday January 1, 2016
New Year's Day 'Holiday'
ASX 24: Closed
NZ ASX 24: Closed

Please note: ANZAC Day falls on Saturday 25 April, 2015, with no substitute holiday declared in Australia.  Normal trading hours apply for ASX 24.  Day session closed for NZ ASX 24.