Skip to content

ASX 24 Trading calendar - 2016

The following details Trading Hours as they relate to the ASX 24 markets during domestic and international Public Holidays. The policy and process with regards to Trading Hours and Public Holidays is detailed in the tables immediately below.

Public Holidays ASX 24 Australian, US and ASX 24 NZ Dollar Market Status
Australian Day Session Closed
Night Session Normal Trading Hours
New Zealand Day Session Closed
Night Session Normal Trading Hours
US Day Session Normal Trading Hours
Night Session Normal Trading Hours
International Closed Day and Night Sessions

Public Holidays refer to holidays observed by the respective Debt and/ or Equity financial markets.

Australian Holidays NZ Holidays US Holidays International Holidays
Australia Day New Year Holiday Martin Luther King Day New Year's Day
ANZAC Day Waitangi Day Presidents Day Good Friday
Queen's Birthday ANZAC Day Memorial Day Easter Monday
  Queen's Birthday Independence Day Christmas Day
  Labour Day Labour Day Boxing Day
    Thanksgiving Day  
       

 

Over Night Options (ONO) on Australian Dollar Products before a Day Session Holiday

 

The Three and Ten Year Commonwealth Government Bond ONOs will not be available for trading on the Night Session on the dates detailed below due to the unavailability of the following Day Session to calculate a settlement price with integrity.

 

Calendar Date Public Holiday - Trade Date
Monday 25 January, 2016 Australia Day – Tuesday 26 January, 2016
Friday 22 April, 2016 ANZAC Day – Monday 25 April, 2016
Friday 10 June, 2016 Queen’s Birthday – Monday 13 June, 2016

 

Intra Day Options (IDO) on Australian Dollar Debt Products

 

The Three and Ten Year Commonwealth Government Bond IDOs will not be available for trading on dates where the day session for ASX 24 Australian products are not available or closes early.

 

Date Trading hours
Friday 1 January, 2016
New Year's Day 'Holiday'
ASX 24: Closed
NZ ASX 24: Closed
Monday 4 January, 2016
Day after New Year's Day 'Holiday' (NZ)
ASX 24: Normal Trading Hours
NZ ASX 24: Day Session Closed
Night Session to open at 3:40pm (Sydney Time)
Monday 18 January, 2016
Martin Luther King Day (US)
ASX 24: Normal Trading Hours 
NZ ASX 24: Normal Trading Hours
Tuesday 26 January, 2016
Australia Day 'Holiday'
ASX 24: Day Session Closed
Night Session to open at 5:00pm (Sydney Time)
NZ ASX 24: Normal Trading Day
Monday 8 February, 2016
Waitangi Day (NZ)
ASX 24: Normal Trading Hours
NZ ASX 24: Day Session Closed
Night Session to open at 3:40pm (Sydney Time)
Monday 15 February, 2016
Presidents Day (US)
ASX 24: Normal Trading Hours 
NZ ASX 24: Normal Trading Hours
Thursday 24 March, 2016
Day Before Good Friday
ASX 24: Night Session to cease trading at midnight
NZ ASX 24: Night Session to cease trading at midnight (Sydney Time)
Friday 25 March, 2016
Good Friday
ASX 24: Closed
NZ ASX 24: Closed
Monday 28 March, 2016
Easter Monday
ASX 24: Closed
NZ ASX 24: Closed
Monday 25 April, 2016
ANZAC Day
ASX 24: Day Session Closed
Night Session to open at 5:00pm (Sydney Time)
NZ ASX 24: Day Session Closed
Night Session to open at 3:40pm (Sydney Time)
Monday 30 May, 2016
Memorial Day (US)
ASX 24: Normal Trading Hours
NZ ASX 24: Normal Trading Hours
Monday 6 June, 2016
Queen's Birthday (NZ)
ASX 24: Normal Trading Hours
NZ ASX 24: Day Session Closed
Night Session to open at 3:40pm (Sydney Time)
Monday 13 June, 2016
Queen's Birthday (ex WA)
ASX 24: Day Session Closed
Night Session to open at 5:10pm (Sydney Time)
NZ ASX 24: Normal Trading Hours
Monday 4 July, 2016
Independence Day (US)
ASX 24: Normal Trading Hours 
NZ ASX 24: Normal Trading Hours
Monday 1 August, 2016
Bank Holiday (NSW)
ASX 24: Normal Trading Hours
NZ ASX 24: Normal Trading Hours
Monday 5 Sept, 2016
Labour Day (US)
ASX 24: Normal Trading Hours
NZ ASX 24: Normal Trading Hours
Monday 3 October, 2016
Labour Day NSW
ASX 24: Normal Trading Hours
NZ ASX 24: Normal Trading Hours
Monday 10 October, 2016
Columbus Day
ASX 24: Normal Trading Hours
NZ ASX 24: Normal Trading Hours
Monday 24 October, 2016
Labour Day (NZ)
ASX 24: Normal Trading Hours
NZ ASX 24: Day Session Closed
Night Session to open at 3:40pm (Sydney Time)
Friday 11 November, 2016
Veteran's Day (US)
ASX 24: Normal Trading Hours
NZ ASX 24: Normal Trading Hours
Thursday 24 November, 2016
Thanksgiving Day (US)
ASX 24: Normal Trading Hours
NZ ASX 24: Normal Trading Hours
Friday 23 December, 2016
Last Business Day before Christmas Day

ASX 24: Equity Products to close at 2:30pm (Sydney Time)
ASX 24: VIX to close at 14:15pm (Sydney Time)
Interest Rate, Energy, Environmental and Agriculture Products to
close at 12:30pm (Sydney Time)
Night Session Closed
NZ ASX 24: Interest Rate Products and Energy Products to close at 10:00am (Sydney Time)
Night Session Closed

Monday 26 December, 2016
Boxing Day
ASX 24: Closed
NZ ASX 24: Closed
Tuesday 27 December, 2016
Christmas Day Holiday
ASX 24: Closed
NZ ASX 24: Closed
Friday 30 December, 2016
Last Business Day before New Year's Day

ASX 24: Equity Products to close at 2:30pm (Sydney Time)
ASX 24: VIX to close at 14:15pm (Sydney Time)
Interest Rate, Energy, Environmental and Agriculture Products to
close at 12:30pm (Sydney Time)
Night Session Closed
NZ ASX 24: Interest Rate Products and Energy Products to close at 10:00am (Sydney Time)
Night Session Closed

Monday 2 January, 2017
New Year's Day 'Holiday'
ASX 24: Closed
NZ ASX 24: Closed

ASX Limited reserves the right to declare additional Non-Business Days or alter those currently specified herein without notice to holders of this calendar.

No responsibility is accepted for any inaccuracies in the matter published.